Club Arnage
October 06, 2024, 01:12:33 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: … welcome to the Club Arnage Le Mans forum …

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Stoopid is as stoopid does........  (Read 9565 times)
Ballast
CA Veteran

DON'T PANIC

View Profile
« Reply #15 on: April 15, 2005, 12:28:49 pm »

Glad to hear that you're ok Matt and that your sense of humour was not damaged!

There seems to be a trend developming here which starts with "when I was an engineering apprentice! So, I may as well add my two pence worth....

When I was an engineering apprentice...  we had a couple of university students come in to the workshop for a couple of weeks to gain some "real world" experience. Standing at my lathe I watched whilst one of the students changed a 4 jaw chuck for a 3 jaw on his lathe. He removed the 4 jaw and then carefully inserted the 3 jaw, at which point the buzzer went for tea break. On returning from tea break he inserted his aluminium billet into the chuck, cranked up the RPM to 1500 and started the puppy spinning. Everything went well for the first 5 seconds, that is until the laws of physics woke up and decided that it was unreasonable for a chuck to be spinning that fast and stay where it was without actually being attached to anything!!! yep, you've got it,  he'd forgotten to tighten the bolts which hold the chuck to the lathe.